How do you organize your cookie cutters?

How do you organize your cookie cutters?

I need help.

A lot of help. I don’t even know where to start.

I’ve attempted to organize mine on more than one occasion but have yet to come up with a method that works.

a few of my cookie cutters1

I like to think of myself as a fairly organized person. My house is neat, I have To-Do lists everywhere, and I refer to them often. All the towels in my house are folded the same way and stacked neatly. We put just-laundered on the top, and take from the bottom so that they are rotated.

Neat and organized is the way I roll.

My cookie cutters, though, are another story.

A few of my cookie cutters

My pots and pans are neatly stacked with a piece of small bubble wrap in between each to avoid scratches.

Yet my cookie cutters are thrown randomly in bins and in drawers.

Hell, even my storage containers (i.e. Tupperware) are labelled with corresponding numbers so I never have stray lids lying around. (Yes, I know, it’s a little over-the-top but it works).

And my poor little cookie cutter collection continues to be neglected.

Yes, it’s bothering me.

My cookie cutters are, for lack of a better term, a complete and utter disaster.

my collection of cookie cutters

Would you look at this mess? Two big bins sit in my garage and there’s no rhyme or reason to which bin a particular cookie cutter is in.

It’s a travesty!

Organizing my collection of cookie cutters has been on my To-Do list for a while but as is so often the case, life gets in the way and I never seem to get to it.

I mean to. I have all good intentions. I really do.

But I haven’t yet.

It certainly doesn’t help that I’ve developed an obsession with them and my collection continues to grow. Not sure if I’m necessarily at the point where I need to seek professional help, but I could easily start a third bin (yes, I have more) and I barely even know how to decorate cookies.

I just love cookie cutters. Sal just can’t fathom it.

It could be worse – I could be obsessed with fine jewelry or high-end fashion pieces and set our household finances back like nobody’s business. He can look the other way when it comes to two bins of cookie cutters that set him back an average price of $2.99 a piece.

That’s how I justify it.

But I’m interested in how other cookie decorators keep it all straight and I’m putting this question out there to those more organized than I:

How do you organize your cookie cutters? Especially with limited storage space?

5 thoughts on “How do you organize your cookie cutters?

  1. Small plastic drawers and categorize them in groups in alphabetical order, e.g. Mickey Mouse cookie cutter in the LMNOP drawer. That’s how we store our impression metal trays at the office. 🙂

Leave a Reply

