Food blogging is not for the faint of heart

No photos or compelling narrative about cookie decorating here.

I just have a confession to make.

I’m less than a month into this endeavor and have already concluded that food blogging is NOT for the faint of heart.

I love it, but it’s anything but easy.

I’ve read everything I can about food blogging for months years and I readily admit I was forewarned by all those in the know, all the food blogging veterans,  that it would not be easy.

Now I know that, in a big way.

Documenting my progress as I set out on my pursuit to learn cookie decorating and some basic photography skills is my goal. I enjoy writing, so blogging about it was to be the “fun” part. The “easy” part.

Oh Lord, talk about being oblivious!

Making dough and baking cookies while trying to capture each step of the process in photos, editing those photos to some degree of clarity, formulating my thoughts into something  I can put into writing……

It’s a full-time job, and then some.

It’s not like I’m admitting defeat here and I certainly have no plans to roll over and play dead, but I do agree that it’s a challenge.

I may not be competent at blogging yet, but I hope that one day down the road I can look back at the beginning of my blog, the first dozen or so posts here on Royal Icing Diaries, and have a good laugh at myself for my ignorance.

I stick to my mantra that if you’re not having fun it’s just not worth it.

8 thoughts on “Food blogging is not for the faint of heart

  1. I feel exactly like this is Julia & Julia. I am thrilled by your project, and look foward to following your every step. If you ever need a taster, just call us!!!
    Thanks for putting me on your list.
    Carol & Joe

      • As far as I am concerned, YOU ARE THE ONE AND ONLY FOOD BLOGGER!!! Waiting eagerly to hear about your actual first cookie posting- like what kind of cookie it is and the difficulty or simplicity of making it.
        Carol

      • LOL…thanks Carol.. I’m working on the actual cookie postings now. I want to see you bake the cookies right along with me! 🙂

  2. How very ambitious, Colleen! You are a hard worker so I know you will ve successful. To he honest, I don’t have any of the “tools” in the pictures! Baking is like a foreign language to me, however, I would make a good taste-tester! Good luck-love you!!

    • Oh, entertaining it is. I always have a good laugh. Yes, maybe one day I will be a pro. I can’t see light at the end of the tunnel yet but who knows.

Leave a Reply

