Food Photography Basics – How on earth do I use two hands?

I’d like to think that I’m very slowly catching on to food photography basics. But, how on earth do I use two hands to accomplish a task and still be able to take an action shot? I mean, it’s not like I can rustle up another five fingers here.

I need some serious guidance with this one. If there is a photographer who happens to come across this post and my ineptitude, please advise. I’m lost.

Totally clueless.

This is the scenario I refer to:

Let’s say I am pouring some vanilla extract into a measuring spoon, the bottle is perched in my left hand (I being lefty) and the measuring spoon is in my right hand. I would like, for one reason or another, to photograph that action.

How do I do that?

I’ve already spent 10  minutes trying to set up the tripod which is something that continues to elude me as it’s one of the oddest contraptions I’ve ever encountered (another reason I am not a photographer by trade).

The camera sits poised on the tripod and the appropriate settings have been made. Everything is good to go.

Now what do I do? How do I snap the photo without spilling the vanilla? I do have a remote shutter release but that is yet another item that needs to handheld. If I press the button I would imagine I am A) going to spill the vanilla, and B) the remote will be in the photo.

Short of figuring out a way to rent another hand, any and all tips are welcome other than to advise me to give up photographing food.  I’m determined to conquer this.

8 thoughts on “Food Photography Basics – How on earth do I use two hands?

  1. Use the timer on the camera. Or get a friend to take the pics. That friend can be your cookie taster. 🙂

    • You just want to be the cookie taster. Nice try! I just ordered a timer yesterday. Someone gave me that tip and I never even knew that existed! Can’t wait to try that out but in the meantime you may need to come over and hold the camera for me. I’ll feed you cocktails cookies while you do!

      • You’re on! Now that I realized that there is even such a thing as a remote timer I can’t wait to get mine and try it out. I’m such a fake blond!

    • Well, I wouldn’t exactly say figured it out. Someone emailed me and said to buy a timer, so I did. Now I have to figure that out. I didn’t even know such a thing existed. I am so green when it comes to this whole photography thing.

Leave a Reply

