How to make flat lines and dots on cookies – you need wet icing

Decorating cookies allows endless creativity and there are no rules. That’s probably what I like most about it: There really are no wrongs and rights.

Cookie decorators apply so many different artistic styles and techniques, and one of them that intrigued me for the longest time was how to make flat lines and dots on cookies.

Flat dots on royal icing

I’ve made lots of dots and lines on my cookies already.

Raised dots on royal icing

But MY dots and lines certainly aren’t flat. Rather, they’re raised little bumps perched precariously atop my flood icing, and I couldn’t understand how to get them to sink into the layer of icing below.

I’d sit and stare at them, praying they’d sink in.

But they never did.

But now they do.

I finally learned that you need wet icing to make flat lines and flat dots on your cookies.

It’s a technique called wet-on-wet icing and it’s actually so simple to do.

I can now make flat lines and dots on any cookies I choose. No longer is it a mystery to me.

Today I tried the wet-on-wet technique. I made flat lines, flat dots, and I even made a big flat swirl on one of my cookies.

Raised and flat lines and dots

I’ve always let my flood icing dry for a few hours before adding any other decorative touches to the cookies. I thought that’s what I was supposed to do. In other words, I’ve built layers of icing and end up with raised lines and raised dots.

To make flat lines and dots I don’t let the flood icing dry more than about 30 seconds before adding any variety of dots, lines and swirls I want. By using wet icing on top of wet icing, the dots and lines sink and blend into the wet flood icing below: One layer, and a whole new dimension to my cookies.

I’m thrilled and I tried it today.

In my opinion it’s important to stay super organized to do this – I had all of my flood icing within arms reach and decided which colors I wanted to use before I started decorating each cookie. I figured out that I couldn’t let the flood icing dry too long or the technique wouldn’t work.

So I outlined and flooded my first cookie in yellow.

First outline and flood the cookie

After 30 seconds I added my dots. The first time I did this I added the dots immediately after flooding and the dots blended in but they also “bled” into the yellow icing. I guess it’s because of the vast contrast between the lighter flood icing and the much darker dots.

On the second go-around I waited 30 seconds. No bleeding at all and I was happy as a pig.

Add dots to wet icing

I decided to try my hand at flat lines.

Lines are something I know I need to work on. They don’t always come out as straight as I’d like, and one end is wider than the other most of the time.

Another thing I’ve added to my list of “need to practice”.

This time I outlined and flooded a rectangular cookie with light blue icing.

First flood the cookie to make flat lines

I sat there patiently, squeeze bottle of white flood icing in hand, and waited the obligatory 30 seconds.

Add the lines to wet icing

I drew a few lines and then really went out on a limb and added a second color.

Woo hoo…this is the life!

Add different color lines

And those white and yellow lines sure enough sunk into the light blue icing and formed a smooth surface. I just love this wet-on-wet thing.

Flat lines on royal icing

Now that I know how to make flat lines and dots this opens all kinds of decorating doors for me.

The littlest things thrill me, I know, but I’m just beside myself today that I finally learned how to do this.

2 thoughts on “How to make flat lines and dots on cookies – you need wet icing

  1. Do you know where I could get a fairly large (6″) round cookie cutter – not for cookies, but to cut out dough for perogies.

Leave a Reply

