Oatmeal Raisin Cookies to Truly Write Home About!

When it comes to cookies I would have to say that oatmeal raisin rank way up there on my favorites list.

However, there are oatmeal raisin cookies and then there are the oatmeal raisin cookies you long for: the ones that conjure up childhood memories of visits to grandma’s house. THOSE are the ones on my list.

Chewy and moist, and chock-full of raisins.

The best oatmeal raisin cookies

I have tried and retried dozens of oatmeal raisin cookie recipes. Some flat and crunchy (not my favorite) and others that are chewy but bland. Most have been mediocre at best.

Then I came across the ideal recipe. One that produces cookies with a nice crunch followed by a chewy interior and bursting with the flavors of both oatmeal and raisins as well as a hint of cinnamon. I’ve since tossed all the oatmeal raisin recipes that had gathered in my recipe files, except for this little gem.

I have no idea where it originated so i can’t give proper credit to the creator but I came across it on food.com years ago. Someone by the name of Bev posted this and not surprisingly it gets excellent reviews.  These are simply scrumptious, delicious and over-the-top and I felt the need to share.

Oatmeal raisin cookies to truly write home about!

The yield on these is about 40 cookies give or take, depending on how big you make them. I’ve made mini oatmeal raisin cookies with these, cutting the baking time to about 7-8 minutes, and I’ve gotten upwards of 60 cookies..

Of course, as with most recipes I try, I’ve tweaked it slightly to suit my own little taste buds. I add both cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough; not a lot but enough to give it a little umph.

I also pre-soak the raisins for 15 minutes to plump them up. I pre-soak them in water but I know that some other people soak them in rum.

oatmeal raisin cookies to truly write home about

At times I’ve added some dried cranberries and a cup of chopped pecans or walnuts, and when I’m in the mood for chocolate (who’s not in the mood for chocolate once in a while), I’ve ditched the raisins altogether and made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies that are just heavenly. Good chocolate is key.

So here I offer you one of the best oatmeal raisin cookie recipes I’ve found to date. I’ve added the approximate metric conversions to the best of my ability here.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

(Adapted from food.com)

Ingredients:

1-1/2 (233 grams) cups raisins

2 cups (260 grams) unbleached all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon (5 grams) baking soda

1 teaspoon (5 grams) baking powder

1 teaspoon (6 grams) kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon (3 grams) cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon (3 grams) nutmeg

1 cup (228 grams) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup (210 grams) granulated sugar

1 cup (240 grams) firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons (10 mL) pure vanilla extract

3 cups oats (Don’t use instant oats) **If using old-fashioned oats the conversion is 74 grams, quick-cooking oats 83 grams.

Directions:

Soak the raisins in very hot water for 15 minutes.

Presoak the raisins for oatmeal raisin cookies

Drain well and set aside.

Drain the plumped raisins for oatmeal raisin cookies

In the meantime, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 C, Gas Mark 4). Place rack in center position.

Whisk the flour, baking soda, baking powder and kosher salt together.

Whisk the dry ingredients together

Whisk in the cinnamon and nutmeg, and set aside.

In a large bowl combine the butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs and vanilla using an electric mixer, on low speed until fully incorporated and then increase the speed to high.

Beat until fluffy and the color lightens.

Combine the wet ingredients for oatmeal raisin cookies

Beat the wet ingredients until fluffy

Using a wooden spoon, stir the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture only until no flour is visible. Don’t over mix.

Oatmeal raisin cookies - add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients

Oatmeal raisin cookies - stir by hand

Fold in the oats and raisins. I use both a wooden spoon and a spatula to do the hand mixing as I find it easier to combine ingredients.

Oatmeal raisin cookies - stir in the oats and raisins

Use a large cookie scoop (approx 1 ounce), or measure a good heaping tablespoon of dough, and drop on to a baking sheet lined with parchment, approximately 2-inches apart.

Oatmeal raisin cookies - drop onto a baking sheet

Bake 11-13 minutes until golden, but still moist beneath the cracks on top.

Remove from oven and let the cookies sit on the baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Oatmeal raisin cookies

A nice golden color on the bottom is what you’re going for.

Delicious oatmeal raisin cookies

Then cover them tightly and guard them with your life because I promise, they WILL disappear.

They’re just that good.

10 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies to Truly Write Home About!

    • Thanks! I agree…they are just delicious and the nutmeg, and the cinnamon, make them even better. Don’t forget to plump the raisins. It makes a nice difference.

  1. These are the best Homemade oatmeal raisin cookies, I can’t stop eating them! When following the recipe as written they come out perfect. I switched the regular oats with Instant oats and they still came out perfect.

    • Absolutely Kathy. I do all the time. Either freeze the fresh-baked cookies once they’ve cooled completely, or freeze the dough before baking and then bake directly from the freezer: No need to defrost. Just add a few minutes to the bake time. If you are going to freeze the dough, drop balls of dough onto a baking sheet and freeze until solid. Then place them all in an airtight Ziploc bag. If you freeze the baked cookies, let them thaw on the counter in the container you froze them in – don’t open the container until they’re thawed so you don’t get condensation on the cookies themselves. I hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

