Royal Icing Diaries will be moving

I am so excited to let everyone know that in the very near future, Royal Icing Diaries will be moving to a hosted site.

Now you may be asking, “what in the hell does that mean”?

I had no idea either until a few months ago, so don’t feel bad.

It’s a good thing, I promise.

You see, currently as you know, you have to include “wordpress” in the web address if you have any hopes of actually reaching the blog site.

www.royalicingdiaries.wordpress.com

Self-hosting the site (paying for a server) will allow me to add all kinds of fun stuff to the site, and the web address will be shorter since I won’t be using wordpress.com.

The new address will simply be:

http://www.royalicingdiaries.com

In other words, I will have a lot more creative control over everything on the site which is what I want.

To say I am thrilled is an understatement and hopefully everyone who follows the blog will be too. I promise bigger and better things to come at http://www.royalicingdiaries.com.

By self-hosting I’ll be able to customize Royal Icing Diaries to my heart’s content, have a new design, better links, a print button on each page that allows you to print a recipe, and all kinds of other things.

I’m hoping that the migration will go off without a hitch and there will be very little “down time” in the process.

I will let you know when it will happen but look forward to it being within the next two weeks with any luck. And once it does, please feel free to let me know what you think of the new look and feel of the blog. All feedback is welcome.

Once the change is made, you’ll be directed to the new web address if you have the blog bookmarked, but only for a while. So please bookmark the new address once I let you know it’s up and running.

Thanks to all of you who follow and support the blog, and the Facebook Page. I just love writing the blog and you have no idea how much it means to me that you are interested in it and keep following it. I hope you all continue to share the blog with your friends and family.

Colleen

6 thoughts on “Royal Icing Diaries will be moving

  1. Whatever this means, it sounds like somebody is impressed with what you are doing—as I certainly am!!! Keep us all posted. Carol Q

  2. Hi Colleen!

    Looks like September has been a really busy and productive month for you: you’ve baked some really good looking cookies, wrote some lovely posts and now you’re moving 😉
    Congratulations!

    Sad to say September wasn’t a great baking month for me, haven’t baked a thing nor did I decorate a single cookie … But I have high hopes for October and still planning to bake the chocolate cookies you wrote about in your Leaves and Acorns-post.

    Thought it was interesting to read about your experience with Sweetopia’s 10-second royal icing. I’ve been using the “one icing consistency for everything-approach” for a while now and I must say that it gets easier with time and practice. Although I still need a lot of practice to get it right 😉

    Looking forward to see the new and improved Royal Icing Diaries!
    – PS: I loved the pink flower blankets on your elephants!

    • Hi there Inge! Yes, I’ve been baking up a storm lately. This time of year I’ve always been inclined to bake all kinds of treats as the holidays approach. And I’m excited to finally be able to move the blog. There is so much to learn about blogging and I continue to learn as I go so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

      I am thrilled to hear that you’ve been using the one consistency approach with your icing!! I agree, it gets a little easier as I practice but I have a long way to go to get it down pat. It’s hard for me to do the small detailed areas with that icing but I’ve used it a few times now and will keep using it until I get it right! 🙂

      Please don’t hesitate to give feedback on any of the cookies – if you see flaws with the RI, and you know what I did wrong I would absolutely welcome the feedback!
      Colleen

Leave a Reply

